Daily Archives: August 8, 2011

matilda’s woodland themed birthday party

On July 25th, my sweet girl turned ONE! It’s hard to believe it’s already been a year since the incredible night she was born. It has been amazing watching her grow into the special little girl she is today, full of personality.

To celebrate her very first birthday, I decided to throw her a woodland themed birthday party! I’m sure in the future, she will beg for princess parties, or something of that nature, but since I had all the creative control, I took full advantage!

I found the perfect invites on Etsy, and was able to order and get them printed very inexpensively. I had been pinning ideas on pinterest (side note… Do you use pinterest? I am obsessed!!) for months prior to the day, and had tons of ideas for all of the decor I wanted to attempt to make. With the help of some amazing friends and family, I was able to literally make everything by hand, which added a special touch. My sister, husband and I made these adorable owl fans, since July in the south is “hotter than the hinges of hell,” to steal a quote from one of my favorite movies, Elizabethtown. The cue little gift bags held felt woodland creature masks, which we gave out as favors to all of Matilda’s little friends.

I made these adorable wood cake stands (with the help of my very capable-with-a-saw brother in law) to hold the cupcakes and smash cake. I picked up the little deer at a bookstore just that week, and used two paper straws to hold up the burlap bunting.

I found a table cloth similar to the one I used on the drink table on pinterest, and decided to make it myself! I picked up some inexpensive cotton and all different ribbons and trim to make it. I adore striped straws and mason jars, and thought they added the perfect touch on the drink table.

The flower arrangements throughout the party were made by my sweet mama and mother in law! We used vintage mason jars and vases and mugs we all had already. The mushroom ones I purchased last year from Owl Really Vintage, who also has a booth at the Tennessee Antique Mall. You should go check out her adorable items! The cookies were picked up at Whole Foods by my in laws, which I thought added the perfect touch.

I stole this adorable idea from my friend Traci, who threw the most adorable nautical themed party for her daughter Caroline. Having snacks especially for the babies is one of the things I almost overlooked, until remembering Caroline’s sweet party. We also had juice boxes for the littles (and anyone else who wanted them!), which cut out on having to buy a whole bunch of sippee cups.

Throughout the party decor, we had clothes pinned photos of Matilda throughout her first year on baker’s twine. It was such a simple thing and it was so much fun walking around seeing her grow up right before all our eyes.

I made her cute little party hat the night before the party, because you can’t have a party without a party hat, right? Also, the little fox mask was one of the party favors I made. The sweet “ONE” banner was made by the other half of the Nashville Moms team, Joy (she also took all these fabulous photos!).

We hung burlap, fabric and doily bunting throughout the backyard with yellow balloons scattered around as well.

The birthday girl! Her dress is by Misha Lulu, and her headband was handmade by me! She was so sweet all day, just smiling and loving being around all our amazing friends and family who made the day absolutely perfect!

Thanks for reading this far! If you are looking for specific tutorials or any other info, email us at thenashvillemoms {at} gmail {dot} com or leave a comment right here!

Credits:

Invitations: http://www.etsy.com/shop/bnute

Photography: http://www.joywilsonphotography.com

Pinterest Idea Board: http://pinterest.com/rachel_arnold/party-ideas