read: what i’m reading now

These are a few of the books I am currently reading – when it comes to nonfiction, I typically switch back and forth between a stack of books, so I don’t get overwhelmed by all of the information in one. For some reason, this tactic helps me process and really grasp the concepts presented in a book.

An Everlasting Meal is an incredible book instructing readers on the art of intuitive cooking. I’ve always loved cooking, but will usually use a recipe, so I found this book intriguing.

Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth is an incredible book to read if you are pregnant. The first section is full of inspiring (though some are a little hippy-ish even for my natural babywearing, extended breastfeeding self) birth stories that I constantly read over and over again. One of my favorite quotes from this book (which has quickly become my mantra this pregnancy) is this:

“Your body is not a lemon. You are not a machine. The Creator is not a careless mechanic. Human female bodies have the same potential to give birth well as aardvarks, lions, rhinoceri, elephants, moose, and water buffalo. Even if it has not been your habit throughout your life so far, I recommend that you learn to think positively about your body.” 

Simplicity Parenting is another book i’m having to read one section at a time, just so I can really take it all in. It talks a lot about how by simplifying a child’s environment, children are more able to flourish in all areas. I’m really enjoying what I’ve read so far.

The Book of New Family Traditions is a book I know I will refer back to for years to come. It has a lot of information on how family rituals can offer a sense of home and identity that is good for the whole family. I’ve only quickly browsed through it, but I know I will love it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

